Ancient city and, for many centuries, capital of Upper Egypt, built on the banks of the Nile, at about 725 Km south of Cairo of today.

In ancient Egyptian it was known with the name Waset.

Tebe is today partially occupied by the cities of Karnak and Luxor.

The name Tebe was given by the Greek, who called it also Diospolis (“heavenly city”) and it’s identified in the Ancient Testament as No (“the city”) or No-Amon (Amon’s city).

Of prehistoric origin, Tebe appears for the first time in documents that go back to ancient Egypt. 

Tombs that go back to the VI dynasty (2407 – 2255 BC) have been discovered in the necropolis on the western side of the Nile.

As the biblical name of the city indicates, the local divinity was Amon, who in origin represented the power of generation and reproduction and, later, was worshipped, with Ra, as Amon-Ra

Amon’s temple in Karnak is one of the best kept and impressive ones of ancient Egypt.

During the pharaohs’ reigns from the IX to the X dynasty (2230 – 2035 BC), Tebe became the administrative centre of a powerful descent of nomarchi (governors) that challenged with success the pharaohs in Eracleopoli, obtaining the complete control of Egypt around 2035 BC.

With the dynasty of teban pharaohs, the city became the capital of Egypt until Akhenaten’s reign, in the XIV century BC. Many temples, the path of sphipoxes, a series of beautiful tombs and many other monuments were built in this period in Tebe (or near it).

Particularly during the XIX and XX dynasty (1293 – 1070 BC) after the city was the capital of the reign again, the pharaohs increased its splendor with impressive architectural works.

Tebe was sacked by the Assiri in the VII century BC and, in spite of the following restorations, it began to progressively decline after the defeat of the XXXI dynasty ( 332 BC). At the end of the I century BC it was destroyed by the romans.

Among the most important monuments there are the pharaohs’ tombs in the Valley of the kings, the colossal of Memnone, the Ramesseum of ramesses II, ramesses’s III temple and the queen Hatshepsut’s one.

14 pensiero su “THEBES”
  1. I have seen many useful factors on your website about computer systems. However, I’ve the thoughts and opinions that netbooks are still not quite powerful more than enough to be a good option if you often do jobs that require loads of power, just like video modifying. But for world-wide-web surfing, statement processing, and many other typical computer work they are all right, provided you can’t mind small screen size. Many thanks sharing your ideas.

  2. Hey very cool site!! Man .. Excellent .. Amazing .. I will bookmark your blog and take the feeds also…I’m happy to find so many useful info here in the post, we need work out more techniques in this regard, thanks for sharing. . . . . .

  3. This article provides a guide to playing free bingo in the UK without making a deposit, with tips on how to find the best no deposit bingo sites. No deposit bingo is a way for players to play and try different bingo sites without having to spend any money. However, it is important that you check the terms and conditions, licensing agreements and wagering requirements. Another very good for online bingo is LeoVegas Casino. They are an award-winning casino that offers a nice selection of bingo games. These games are powered by their internal game provider. The selection is not very large but there are good bingo games you can try out at their site. Many no deposit online Bingo sites offer bonuses that are non-cashable bonuses. You get to keep your winnings in the casino account but when you want to make a withdrawal the casino will only give them to you if you have met their wager requirements.
    The 7Reels Casino free spins bonus is available to new customers only. No deposit is required to claim the 50 free spins sign up offer. Free spins winnings must be wagered 20x and have a maximum withdrawal amount of € $100. Minimum deposit € $10 required to claim deposit bonus offers. Maximum bonus amount: $6750. Deposit bonuses plus extra spins winnings must be wagered 35x. Bonus terms and conditions apply to casino bonuses. Wondering how we chose these free spins online casino sites? Below we explain by what criteria we evaluate online casinos that offer zero deposit free spins bonuses. Take a look at them before you sign up and get free spins! The Avalon78 Casino is a brand new online casino that only started in 2021. Therefore, it is particularly interesting for us to know whether this casino offers an attractive welcome bonus and whether the associated bonus conditions are fair and feasible. On this page, we present the current Avalon78 bonus for new customers and, of course, also take a look at any bonus offers for existing customers. We also clarify the question of whether there is currently an Avalon78 no deposit bonus.

  4. Everything posted made a bunch of sense. However, what about this?
    suppose you were to create a awesome headline? I mean, I don’t wish to tell you how to run your website, but suppose you
    added something to maybe grab people’s attention?
    I mean Thebes – Isis's ancient Egypt is a
    little vanilla. You could glance at Yahoo’s front page and note how they create post headlines to get people
    to open the links. You might add a video or a related picture or two to grab people
    excited about everything’ve got to say. In my opinion,
    it would bring your posts a little bit more interesting.

Lascia un commento

Il tuo indirizzo email non sarà pubblicato. I campi obbligatori sono contrassegnati *